Jack Regan

Noob (17)
Jan 10, 2017
08:58 pm

hi all, i have a 2012 trek slash 8 that i have upgraded a fair bit and one of the main things i haven't upgraded is the suspension. my fox talas 36mm forks are great but are currently leaking and i believe that my rear shock which is a fox drcv rp2, is blown. also a great shock acts similar to a coil shocks. Im wondering if i should have them repaired or look at some near fox suspension. also is there anyway i could go to 180mm travel somehow or will that mess with the geometry. ill try to post a picture of my bike aswell. also im running super tacky maxxis minion dhf tires. should i be running high psi because they feels really slow. cheers Smile15726579_1837049063234247_5680276587322844593_n.jpg

mtbhurt 46

Gumby (86)
Jan 11, 2017
05:49 am

Hey Jack, I'm no expert but if you've been happy with the fork and shock thus far, getting them serviced and/or repaired will be cheaper than replacement and make your ride feel like a new bike again. I'd suggest contacting Cyclinic or NS Dynamics (both Brisbane based suspension experts) and talk to them about your options. You might even be able to upgrade the fork internals.

Going to a 180mm fork will mess with the geometry as you say - might make going up hill more of a challenge. Tyres perform better at lower pressures - what do you run them at presently? Are they set up tubeless?

Jack Regan

Noob (17)
Jan 13, 2017
09:18 am

hi thanks for the quick reply i am more of a downhill rider and i dont usually go up hill so if i were to get 180mm forks would i be able to run the softer with a bit of sag and it wouldnt mess with the goemetry. also i usually run about 40 psi in my rear tyre and about 35 in the front also it feels really slow when riding and no i run tube although i want to go tubless soon cheers

Rich

Dirt Squirt (154)
Jan 19, 2017
10:56 pm